Teacher Prize of Saarbrücken Computer Science awarded

Bild der Pressemitteilung

Awardee Albert Wiedemann and MNU Chair Gerwald Heckmann ©MNU

This year, the Ursula Hill-Samelson Teacher Prize of the Saarbrücken Computer Science goes to the Bavarian computer science teacher Albert Wiedemann. The prize, which is funded with 2500 Euros, is for teachers who have made a special contribution to the subject of computer science. Since 2015, the award has been sponsored by Saarbrücken Computer Science and been awarded by the Verband zur Förderung des MINT-Unterrichts (MNU).

Award winner Albert Wiedemann has taught at the Erasmus Grasser Gymnasium in Munich. Wiedemann was significantly involved in developing and decisively shaping the subject of computer science at Bavarian secondary schools, but also provided important impulses nationwide, says the jury in its laudation.

The Ursula Hill-Samelson Teachers’ Prize is usually awarded at the annual Congress of MNU. This year, however, the congress in April had to be cancelled due to the Corona crisis. Therefore, the award presentation has been postponed for a few weeks and was held in a more personal setting.

Further Information:
Laudatio (in German)


Background Saarland Informatics Campus:
800 scientists and about 2000 students from 81 nations make the Saarland Informatics Campus (SIC) one of the leading locations for computer science in Germany and Europe. Five world-renowned research institutes, namely the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI), the Max Planck Institute for Computer Science, the Max Planck Institute for Software Systems, the Center for Bioinformatics and the Cluster for “Multimodal Computing and Interaction” as well as Saarland University with three departments and 18 degree programs cover the entire spectrum of computer science.

Philipp Zapf-Schramm
Competence Center Computer Science
Saarland Informatics Campus
Phone: +49 681 302-70741
E-Mail: pzapf@mmci.uni-saarland.de

Die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit am Saarland Informatics Campus wird unterstützt durch das Kompetenzzentrum Informatik Saarland, gefördert aus Mitteln des Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) und Mitteln der Staatskanzlei Saarland.

Logo Europäischer Fonds für regionale Entwicklung
Logo Staatskanzlei Saarland