Mathematical Data Analysis

Brief overview of the research field

Mathematical data analysis plays an important role in many areas, for example in signal and image processing, magnetic resonance tomography, radar technology, seismology, electrical engineering, medicine, and computer science.
One possible goal is the automated analysis of very large amounts of data. In this context, ensuring a suitable representation of the data plays a fundamental role. Another sub-field is compressed sensing, which has the goal of storing or reconstructing a maximal amount of information content based on a minimal data volume.
Due to the variety of mathematical disciplines involved, there are several working groups at Saarland University that are involved directly or indirectly in mathematical data analysis. Various aspects of analysis and numerical mathematics can be learned in the Applied Mathematics study programs. Relevant compression topics are taught in the Visual Computing master’s program. The proximity to the field of machine learning is reflected in the new Data Science and Artificial Intelligence master’s program.

Professors in this field

Image of Jens Dittrich
Prof. Dr. Jens Dittrich
Professor, Saarland University
Databases, Data Management, and Big Data Analytics
Saarland University
Saarland Informatics Campus
E1 1, R. 311
66123 Saarbrücken
Germany
+49 681 302-70140
Image of Anja Feldmann
Prof. Dr. Anja Feldmann
Scientific Director and Professor, Max Planck Institute for Informatics (MPI INF)
Internet Architecture
Max Planck Institute for Informatics (MPI INF)
Saarland Informatics Campus
E1 4, R. 518
66123 Saarbrücken
Germany
+49 681 9325-3501
Image of Verena Wolf
Prof. Dr. Verena Wolf
Professor, Saarland University
Modeling and Simulation
Saarland University
Saarland Informatics Campus
E1 3, R. 303
66123 Saarbrücken
Germany
+49 681 302-5586

Junior faculty in this field

Mathematical Data Analysis

Kurzübersicht Forschungsfeld

Die Mathematische Datenanlyse spielt in vielen Bereichen eine bedeutende Rolle, z.B. in der Signal- und Bildverarbeitung, der Magnetresonanztomographie, Radartechnik, Seismologie, Elektrotechnik, Medizin und Informatik.
Ein mögliches Ziel ist die automatisierte Analyse von sehr großen Datenmengen. In diesem Zusammenhang spielt eine geeignete Repräsentation der Daten eine grundlegende Rolle. Ein weiteres Teilgebiet ist Compressed Sensing, welches das Ziel verfolgt den maximalen Informationsgehalt durch ein minimales Datenvolumen zu speichern oder zu rekonstuieren.
Aufgrund der Vielfalt an verwendeten mathematischen Disziplinen sind an der Universität des Saarlandes einige Arbeitsgruppen direkt oder indirekt in den Bereich der Mathematischen Datenanalyse involviert. Verschiedene Aspekte der Analysis und Numerik werden in Studiengängen der angewandten Mathematik erlernt. Relevante Themen der Kompression werden in dem Masterstudiengang Visual Computing vermittelt. Die Nähe zum Bereich des Maschinellen Lernens spiegelt sich im neuen Masterstudiengang Data Science and Artificial Intelligence wider.

Professoren/innen in diesem Gebiet

Image of Jens Dittrich
Prof. Dr. Jens Dittrich
Professor, Saarland University
Databases, Data Management, and Big Data Analytics
Saarland University
Saarland Informatics Campus
E1 1, R. 311
66123 Saarbrücken
Germany
+49 681 302-70140
Image of Anja Feldmann
Prof. Dr. Anja Feldmann
Scientific Director and Professor, Max Planck Institute for Informatics (MPI INF)
Internet Architecture
Max Planck Institute for Informatics (MPI INF)
Saarland Informatics Campus
E1 4, R. 518
66123 Saarbrücken
Germany
+49 681 9325-3501
Image of Verena Wolf
Prof. Dr. Verena Wolf
Professor, Saarland University
Modeling and Simulation
Saarland University
Saarland Informatics Campus
E1 3, R. 303
66123 Saarbrücken
Germany
+49 681 302-5586

Dozenten/innen in diesem Gebiet