"A true flagship campus, around which an incubator for start-ups could be built." - Angela Merkel

Saarland, a place for innovation – science and industry on the same wavelength

The application-oriented interplay of research, business and policy makes the Saarland Informatics Campus (SIC) the leading IT location in Europe, with outstanding importance for Germany as a place for innovation. With over 30 research fields and 1,000 employees, the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI), the Max Planck Institute for Informatics, the Max Planck Institute for Software Systems, the Center for Bioinformatics, the Cluster for Multimodal Computing and Interaction, and Saarland University cover the entire range of topics in computer science. Superbly trained young talent, in particular for IT firms, is therefore guaranteed. Through its exceptional breadth, the SIC is able not only to continually expand its worldwide research network, but also to take part in a multitude of collaborations with industry partners both inside and outside of Germany. Within Germany these include Siemens, Adidas, Deutsche Post, Airbus Operations and the BMW “Research and Technology” group in Munich. Internationally, the Saarland Informatics Campus works together with major global concerns such as Microsoft, Adobe, Intel and Google – and with success, as the most recent establishment of the ZF Artificial Intelligence and Cybersecurity Center on the campus impressively demonstrates.

An IT Incubator on campus, more than 80 spin-offs in the last 10 years, and membership in the Software Cluster, a nationwide network of businesses and research facilities for business software development, also make the SIC attractive for entrepreneurs. Saarland University is ranked second for start-up funding by the Stifterverband der Deutschen Wissenschaft (Donors’ Association for the Promotion of Humanities and Sciences in Germany), and has been designated as an “EXIST Start-up Campus” by the Federal Ministry for Business and Technology.

Great things always start small.

The team at SIC is happy to advise and support all interested parties at any time!

Technology Transfer: Collaboration and Investment

In order to transform research results into products and licenses, all institutes of the Saarland Informatics Campus work closely with the entrepreneurship organizations of the state and federal governments. The Competence Center also makes businesses aware of opportunities to collaborate with scientists. The on-site IT-Incubator, supported by the university, the state, and the Max Planck Society, helps scientists to protect their ideas with patents and to make them usable by business and industry, and supports the establishment of new IT businesses that provide numerous jobs for the region. This breadth makes the campus highly attractive for top international companies.

Jens Krück
Head of the Business Cooperation Center
+49 681 302-3548
Campus A1 1
66123 Saarbrücken
Image of Jens Krück

Our expertise for you

IT Security

Spectacular security holes are making daily headlines. With the Center for IT-Security, Privacy and Accountability (CISPA) on campus, companies have the best conditions to benefit from numerous synergies in security research

Big Data Science

Sensible and efficient search through enormous quantities of data, as well as meaningful linking of data in order to find desired information, already offer great potential for commercial applications. Saarbrücken computer science is also very well positioned in this discipline, with research groups in the Department of Computer Science, the Max Planck Institute for Informatics, and the Cluster of Excellence.

Visual Computing

The Max Planck Institute for Informatics, the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence, the University with the Cluster of Excellence “Multimodal Computing and Interaction” and the Visual Computing master’s degree program as well as the founding of the Intel Visual Computing Institute: Outstanding, wide-ranging collaborations between research and industry create a highly attractive environment for additional partnerships and new facilities.

{

Sematic Web

Getting computers to understand information as quickly and robustly as humans do is a challenge that companies like Microsoft, Google, and IBM have been taking on for decades. Saarland University and the Max Planck Institute for Informatics have already established intensive industry contacts in this area, through doctoral stipends and joint projects.

Automotive Industry

Both in large collaborative research projects as well as in the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence, there very are close connections with the most important representatives of the German and European automotive industry. Here the specialized expertise of Saarbrücken researchers comes into play.

Pharmaceuticals

In particular through the Center for Bioinformatics, there are close connections to the pharmaceutical industry. Cooperative efforts deal with algorithms-based analysis and diagnostics, but also overlap with the field of Visual Computing, including via so-called visual screening.

Selected Start-ups

D:AI:MOND Team
Start-up for high-calibre data analysis

Four renowned computer science experts of Saarland University have founded the consulting firm “D:AI:MOND”. Their “Data Science Consulting” is based on the latest research findings. In this way, the scientists want to provide their customers with sound advice

Ambiverse Team
Discovering the digital world through play

The team of Foldio has made it their mission to prepare as many children as possible for the digital world at an early stage and in a playful way – with innovative toys made of conductive paper and with an app. The idea was born at a Startup Weekend at Saarland University in 2017.

Captury Team
Capturing reality

Recognizing how multiple people are moving, within only milliseconds? The technology of the Captury, founded in July 2013 through the Max Planck Institute for Infomatics, helps animation specialists in Hollywood, as well as doctors and athletes.

Research Institutes

Several world-renowned computer science institutes are located on the Saarland Informatics Campus at Saarland University – often only a few steps apart from one another. The researchers working here make Saarbrücken a unique European site for computer science.

Dr. Kristina Scherbaum
General Manager of the Cluster of Excellence MMCI and the Competence Center Computer Science Saarland
+49 681 302-70150
Saarland Informatics Campus E1 7, R.123
66123 Saarbrücken
Image of Dr. Kristina Scherbaum

Research Highlights

Scientists at the Saarland Informatics Campus (SIC) carry out top-level research. Their projects are presented at renowned international conferences, as well as at trade fairs such as the international computer expo CeBIT in Hannover.

Significant contribution to the “Rust” programming language
Significant contribution to the “Rust” programming language
Research on the interplay of hardware and software
Research on the interplay of hardware and software
Sensing devices: Design experiment to spark critical discussion
Sensing devices: Design experiment to spark critical discussion
Paintings from the printer
Paintings from the printer
Saarbrücken based bioinformaticians trace down molecular signals of Parkinson’s disease
Saarbrücken based bioinformaticians trace down molecular signals of Parkinson’s disease
Secure linking of databases
Secure linking of databases
Virtual Worlds become graspable
Virtual Worlds become graspable
Automatically generated language is to adapt to individual users
Automatically generated language is to adapt to individual users
Battery in Focus: Computer Scientists optimize operation of Nano-Satellites in orbit
Battery in Focus: Computer Scientists optimize operation of Nano-Satellites in orbit
Software systems should explain their own behavior
Software systems should explain their own behavior
Structural variants in human genomes
Structural variants in human genomes
Artificial intelligence predicts lightning
Artificial intelligence predicts lightning
Stretchable Circuits
Stretchable Circuits
Software product lines
Software product lines
Portable electronics
Portable electronics
IAA 2017: Saarbrücken researchers show that speech information is more distracting for elderly drivers
IAA 2017: Saarbrücken researchers show that speech information is more distracting for elderly drivers
Sensor stickers transform the human body into a multi-touch surface
Sensor stickers transform the human body into a multi-touch surface
Saarbrücken Start-up Combines Tinkering and Programming for Elementary School Kids
Saarbrücken Start-up Combines Tinkering and Programming for Elementary School Kids
Computer scientists provide fifth dimension for videos
Computer scientists provide fifth dimension for videos
Saarbrücken start-up offers data analysis with scientific expertise
Saarbrücken start-up offers data analysis with scientific expertise
Digital assistant teaches runners healthier running style
Digital assistant teaches runners healthier running style
A webcam is enough to produce a real-time 3D model of a moving hand
A webcam is enough to produce a real-time 3D model of a moving hand
Artificial Intelligence: Recognizing character in the eyes
Artificial Intelligence: Recognizing character in the eyes
IAA 2017: Scientists at Saarland University prevent hacker attacks on cars
IAA 2017: Scientists at Saarland University prevent hacker attacks on cars
Tracking Humans in 3D with Off-the-shelf Webcams
Tracking Humans in 3D with Off-the-shelf Webcams
Saarland University startup presents innovative visualization platform for online media
Saarland University startup presents innovative visualization platform for online media
More than just a flexible doctoral program: Saarbrücken Graduate School of Computer Science
More than just a flexible doctoral program: Saarbrücken Graduate School of Computer Science
Android smartphone data spies exposed like bank robbers
Android smartphone data spies exposed like bank robbers
With Boxmate malicious programs have no place left to hide
With Boxmate malicious programs have no place left to hide
Computer animation: models for facial expression
Computer animation: models for facial expression
Real bring-your-own-device by SRT Boxify
Real bring-your-own-device by SRT Boxify
Big Data for Text: Next-Generation Text Understanding and Analysis
Big Data for Text: Next-Generation Text Understanding and Analysis
Biomechanical simulations show how using tablets and smartphones puts stress on joints and muscles
Biomechanical simulations show how using tablets and smartphones puts stress on joints and muscles
Molecular fitness test for amateur athletes
Molecular fitness test for amateur athletes

Press Releases and News – The Latest Bits and Bytes

blank

CHE Master Ranking: Computer Science at Saarland University Receives Excellent Scores

The Centre for Higher Education (Centrum für Hochschulentwicklung CHE) today published its ranking for the master’s programs in computer science, mathematics and physics. Computer Science at Saarland University reaches the top group in several categories. The ranking is based on student evaluations. For the first time, a special survey was conducted to inquire about studying during the Corona pandemic. The results show that computer science master’s students at Saarland University are [...]

blank

Wolfgang Wahlster accepted as foreign member of the Czech Academy of Engineering Sciences

On November 23, 2021, Professor Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Wolfgang Wahlster was accepted as a foreign member of the Czech Academy of Engineering Sciences (Cena Inženýrské akademie České republiky, EACR) in Prague, which has the German Academy of Engineering Sciences (acatech) as a partner. EACR also represents the Czech Republic in Euro-CASE, the European association of all academies of technology sciences.

blank

Kurt Mehlhorn is Saarland Ambassador

Kurt Mehlhorn has officially been a “Saarland Ambassador” since November 2021. The founding director of the Max Planck Institute for Computer Science in Saarbrücken and professor of computer science at Saarland University had already been a Saarland Ambassador since 2020, and received his certificate of appointment at the annual meeting of Saarland Ambassadors in November 2021 from Saarland Minister President Tobias Hans and Prof. Michael Backes, founding director of the CISPA Helmholtz Center for Information Security and spokesperson for Saarland Ambassadors.

Dates, Lectures and Events

December 2021

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1
  • Talk on "Semantic Congruence Closure Algorithms" by Deepak Kapur (University of New Mexico; Guest Researcher RG1)
2
  • PhD Thesis Defense: Counting Patterns in Strings and Graphs
3
  • Informatik-AG Gymnasium am Schloss
4
5
6
  • Seminar "Informatische Bildung"
  • Face-to-face workshop “Entrepreneurship for Scientists” by GraduSaar
7
8
  • PhD Thesis Defense: Health Privacy: Methods for privacy-preserving data sharing of methylation, micro-biome and eye tracking data
9
  • PhD Thesis Defense: Enhancing Explainability and Scrutability of Recommender Systems
10
  • Informatik-AG Gymnasium am Schloss
11
12
13
  • Seminar "Informatische Bildung"
  • Online-Vortrag: "Digital Reality: Models as the Basis for Understanding the World"
14
15
16
17
  • Informatik-AG Gymnasium am Schloss
18
  • Schülerlabor: CoderDojo
19
20
  • Seminar "Informatische Bildung"
21
22
23
24
  • Informatik-AG Gymnasium am Schloss
25
26
27
  • Seminar "Informatische Bildung"
28
29
30
31
  • Informatik-AG Gymnasium am Schloss

IT Theme Nights – Entrepreneurs, Citizens and Researchers Exchange Ideas

With the “IT Theme Night” event series, the Competence Center for Computer Science, the Knowledge and Technology Transfer Liaison Office (KWT), the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI), and the Zentrale für Produktivität und Technologie Saar e.V. (ZPT/saar.is) facilitate interchange among scientists, citizens, and technology users in small and medium-sized businesses from the region. These events link the latest findings from computer science research with the the needs of professional end-users.

"Ein richtiger Vorzeigecampus , um den sich ein Inkubator für Start-ups bilden konnte." - Angela Merkel

Innovationsstandort Saarland – Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft auf einer Wellenlänge

Das anwendungsnahe Zusammenspiel von Forschung, Wirtschaft und Politik machen den Saarland Informatics Campus (SIC) zum führenden IT-Standort in Europa mit herausragender Bedeutung für den Innovationsstandort Deutschland. Das Deutsche Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI), das Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik, das Max-Planck-Institut für Softwaresysteme, das Zentrum für Bioinformatik sowie die Universität des Saarlandes decken mit mehr als 30 Forschungsgebieten und 1.000 MitarbeiterInnen das gesamte Themenspektrum der Informatik ab. Hervorragend ausgebildeter Nachwuchs, insbesondere für IT-Unternehmen ist also garantiert. Durch die außergewöhnliche Bandbreite erweitert der SIC nicht nur stetig sein weltweites Forschungsnetzwerk, sondern gewinnt auch eine Vielzahl von Kooperationen mit Industriepartnern im In- und Ausland. Innerhalb Deutschlands sind dies unter anderem Siemens, die adidas AG, die Deutsche Post AG, Airbus Operations und die BMW-Gruppe „Forschung und Technik“ in München. International arbeitet der Saarland Informatics Campus mit globalen Größen wie Microsoft, Adobe, Intel und Google zusammen. Und das mit Erfolg, wie die jüngste Ansiedlung des ZF Artificial Intelligence and Cybersecurity Center auf dem Campus eindrucksvoll zeigt.

Ein IT-Inkubator auf dem Campus, mehr als 80 Ausgründungen innerhalb der letzten 10 Jahre und die Mitgliedschaft im Software-Cluster, einem überregionalen Netzwerk von Unternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen für Unternehmenssoftware-Entwicklung, machen den SIC auch für GründerInnen attraktiv. Die Universität des Saarlandes ist durch den Stifterverband der Deutschen Wissenschaft auf Platz zwei der Gründungsförderung gerankt und als „Exist-Gründerhochschule“ vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie ausgezeichnet.

Großes entsteht eben immer im Kleinen.

Das Team vom SIC berät und unterstützt alle InteressentInnen jederzeit gern!

Investieren, Kooperieren und Gründen am Saarland Informatics Campus

Um Forschungsergebnisse auch in Produkte und Lizenzen zu verwandeln, arbeiten alle Institute des Saarland Informatics Campus eng mit den Gründerinstitutionen des Landes und des Bundes zusammen. Das Kompetenzzentrum zeigt dabei auch Unternehmern Kooperationsmöglichkeiten mit Wissenschaftlern auf. Der IT-Inkubator (ITI) unterstützt WissenschaftlerInnen dabei, ihre Ideen mit Patentanmeldungen zu schützen, für Wirtschaft und Industrie nutzbar zu machen und fördert Existenzgründungen zu neuen IT-Unternehmen mit zahlreichen Arbeitsplätzen für die Region. Diese Bandbreite macht den Campus für internationale Spitzenunternehmen hoch attraktiv.

Jens Krück
Leitung Unternehmenskooperationen
+49 681 302-3548
Campus A1 1
66123 Saarbrücken
Bild von Jens Krück

Unsere Expertise für Sie

IT-Sicherheit

Täglich machen spektakuläre Sicherheitslücken Schlagzeilen. Durch das CISPA Helmholtz Zentrum für Informationssicherheit (CISPA) auf dem Campus haben Firmen beste Voraussetzungen, um von zahlreichen Synergien in der Sicherheitsforschung profitieren zu können.

 

Big Data Science

Das sinnvolle und effiziente Durchsuchen von riesigen Datenmengen sowie die sinnvolle Verknüpfung von Daten, um gewünschte Informationen zu finden, bietet bereits heute ein großes Potential für kommerzielle Anwendungen. Die Saarbrücker Informatik ist auch in Forschungsgruppen in der Fachrichtung Informatik, dem Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik (MPI-INF) und dem Exzellenzcluster „Multimodal Computing and Interaction“ (MMCI)  bestens aufgestellt.

 

Visual Computing

Das Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik (MPI-INF), das Deutsche Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI), die Universität mit dem Master-Studiengang Visual Computing sowie die strategische Partnerschaft mit Google namens „Saarbruecken Research Center for Visual Computing, Interaction & AI“: Herausragende und weitreichende Kooperationen aus Forschung und Industrie bieten ein hochattraktives Umfeld für weitere Partnerschaften und Ansiedlungen.

 

{

Semantisches Web

Informationen durch Computer so schnell und zuverlässig wie Menschen verstehen zu lassen, ist seit Jahrzehnten eine Herausforderung, der sich Konzerne wie Microsoft, Google und IBM stellen. Die Universität des Saarlandes (UdS) und das Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik (MPI-INF) haben durch Doktorandenstipendien und gemeinsame Projekte bereits intensive Kontakte in diesen Bereich der Industrie etabliert.

Autoindustrie

Sowohl mit großen Verbundforschungsvorhaben als auch mit dem Deutschen Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI) bestehen sehr gute Kontakte zu den wichtigsten Vertretern der deutschen und europäischen Automobilindustrie. Dabei kommt die fachliche Expertise der Saarbrücker ForscherInnen zum Einsatz.

Pharmazie

Insbesondere durch und über das Zentrum für Bioinformatik (ZBI) bestehen enge Verbindungen zur pharmazeutischen Industrie. Die Kooperationen betreffen die auf Algorithmen basierende Analyse und Diagnostik, überlappen sich aber auch durch das so genannte Virtual Screening, aber auch mit dem Bereich des Visual Computing.

Ausgewählte Start-ups

D:AI:MOND Team
Start-up für hochkarätige Datenanalyse

Vier renommierte Informatik-Experten der Universität des Saarlandes das haben das  Beratungsunternehmen „D:AI:MOND“ gegründet. Ihr „Data Science Consulting“ basiert auf den neuesten Forschungserkenntnissen. Auf diese Weise wollen die Wissenschaftler ihre Kunden fundierter beraten.

Ambiverse Team
Spielerisch die digitale Welt entdecken

Das Team von Foldio hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, möglichst viele Kinder frühzeitig und spielerisch auf die digitale Welt vorzubereiten – mit innovativem Spielzeug aus leitfähigem Papier und seit neuestem mit einer App. Die Idee entstand 2017 auf einem Startup Weekend der Universität des Saarlandes.

Captury Team
Die Realität einfangen

Innerhalb von nur Millisekunden erkennen, wie sich mehrere Personen bewegen? Die Technologie von The Captury, im Juli 2013 aus dem Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik heraus gegründet, hilft Trickfilmspezialisten in Hollywood, Medizinern und Sportlern.

Forschungsinstitutionen

Zahlreiche, weltweit angesehene Informatik-Institute sind auf dem Saarland Informatics Campus an der Universität des Saarlandes (UdS) angesiedelt – oft nur wenige Schritte voneinander entfernt. Die dort arbeitenden ForscherInnen machen Saarbrücken zu einem in Europa einzigartigen Standort für Informatik.

Dr. Kristina Scherbaum
Geschäftsführung Exzellenzcluster MMCI und Kompetenzzentrum Informatik Saarland
+49 681 302-70150
Saarland Informatics Campus E1 7, R.123
66123 Saarbrücken
Bild von Dr. Kristina Scherbaum

Forschungshighlights

Die WissenschaftlerInnen des Saarland Informatics Campus forschen auf höchstem Niveau. Ihre Projekte präsentieren sie auf renommierten, internationalen Konferenzen und Messen wie beispielsweise der internationalen Computermesse CeBIT in Hannover.

Fortschritt in der Demenzforschung
Fortschritt in der Demenzforschung
Zwei AAAI-Auszeichnungen für Saarbrücker KI-Forschung
Zwei AAAI-Auszeichnungen für Saarbrücker KI-Forschung
Maßgeblicher Beitrag zur Programmiersprache Rust
Maßgeblicher Beitrag zur Programmiersprache Rust
Forschung zum Zusammenspiel von Hardware und Software
Forschung zum Zusammenspiel von Hardware und Software
Design-Experiment zum kritischen Umgang mit Technik
Design-Experiment zum kritischen Umgang mit Technik
Gemälde aus dem Drucker
Gemälde aus dem Drucker
Saarbrücker Bioinformatiker sind molekularen Signalen der Parkinson-Krankheit auf der Spur
Saarbrücker Bioinformatiker sind molekularen Signalen der Parkinson-Krankheit auf der Spur
Sichere Vernetzung von Datenbanken
Sichere Vernetzung von Datenbanken
Virtuelle Welten werden ertastbar
Virtuelle Welten werden ertastbar
Automatisch generierte Sprache soll sich an individuelle Nutzer anpassen
Automatisch generierte Sprache soll sich an individuelle Nutzer anpassen
Batterie im Fokus: Informatiker optimieren Einsatz von Nano-Satelliten im Weltall
Batterie im Fokus: Informatiker optimieren Einsatz von Nano-Satelliten im Weltall
Softwaresysteme sollen ihr Verhalten selbst erklären
Softwaresysteme sollen ihr Verhalten selbst erklären
Strukturvarianten im menschlichen Genom
Strukturvarianten im menschlichen Genom
Künstliche Intelligenz sagt Blitze voraus
Künstliche Intelligenz sagt Blitze voraus
Dehnbare Elektronik
Dehnbare Elektronik
Software-Produktlinien
Software-Produktlinien
Tragbare Elektronik
Tragbare Elektronik
Saarbrücker Forscher belegen, dass Sprache Senioren beim Autofahren stärker ablenkt
Saarbrücker Forscher belegen, dass Sprache Senioren beim Autofahren stärker ablenkt
Sensoraufkleber verwandeln menschlichen Körper in Multi-Touch-Oberfläche
Sensoraufkleber verwandeln menschlichen Körper in Multi-Touch-Oberfläche
Saarbrücker Start-up kombiniert für Grundschulkinder Basteln und Programmieren
Saarbrücker Start-up kombiniert für Grundschulkinder Basteln und Programmieren
Saarbrücker Informatiker ermöglichen fünfte Dimension für Videos
Saarbrücker Informatiker ermöglichen fünfte Dimension für Videos
Saarbrücker Start-up bietet Datenanalyse mit wissenschaftlicher Expertise
Saarbrücker Start-up bietet Datenanalyse mit wissenschaftlicher Expertise
Digitaler Assistent bringt Läufern gesündere und effizientere Laufbewegungen bei
Digitaler Assistent bringt Läufern gesündere und effizientere Laufbewegungen bei
Für das Echtzeit-3D-Modell einer sich bewegenden Hand reicht eine einfache Webkamera
Für das Echtzeit-3D-Modell einer sich bewegenden Hand reicht eine einfache Webkamera
Künstliche Intelligenz: Charakter im Blick
Künstliche Intelligenz: Charakter im Blick
Wissenschaftler der Saar-Uni verhindern Hackerangriffe auf Autos
Wissenschaftler der Saar-Uni verhindern Hackerangriffe auf Autos
Forscher erfassen nur mit Webkamera die Bewegungen einer Person als 3D-Modell
Forscher erfassen nur mit Webkamera die Bewegungen einer Person als 3D-Modell
Studenten der Universität des Saarlandes liefern Echtzeit-Monitor für Online-Medien
Studenten der Universität des Saarlandes liefern Echtzeit-Monitor für Online-Medien
Mehr als nur ein flexibles Doktorandenprogramm: Graduate School of Computer Science
Mehr als nur ein flexibles Doktorandenprogramm: Graduate School of Computer Science
Datenspione auf dem Android-Smartphone wie Bankräuber entlarven
Datenspione auf dem Android-Smartphone wie Bankräuber entlarven
Schwachstellen in PHP-Anwendungen systematisch aufspüren
Schwachstellen in PHP-Anwendungen systematisch aufspüren
Vom Smartphone bis zur High-Tech-Fabrik: Bösartige Programme können sich nicht mehr verstecken
Vom Smartphone bis zur High-Tech-Fabrik: Bösartige Programme können sich nicht mehr verstecken
Realistische 3D Gesichtsrekonstruktion vom Standard-Video
Realistische 3D Gesichtsrekonstruktion vom Standard-Video
SRT Boxify- Schützen von Unternehmensdaten – auch unterwegs
SRT Boxify- Schützen von Unternehmensdaten – auch unterwegs
ARTENGIS
ARTENGIS
Ambiverse: Neue Technologie um aus Texten automatisch Wissen zu generieren
Ambiverse: Neue Technologie um aus Texten automatisch Wissen zu generieren
Simulation zeigt, wie Tablets und Smartphones Muskeln und Gelenke belasten
Simulation zeigt, wie Tablets und Smartphones Muskeln und Gelenke belasten
Molekularer Fitness-Test für Sportler kommt noch in diesem Jahr auf den Markt
Molekularer Fitness-Test für Sportler kommt noch in diesem Jahr auf den Markt

Pressemeldungen und Neuigkeiten – Die neuesten Bits und Bytes

blank

Hybrider Workshop: Wer haftet bei Schäden durch Künstliche Intelligenz?

Die Haftung für Künstliche Intelligenz – oder genauer: die Haftung für Schäden, die durch künstlich-intelligente Systeme entstehen – steht im Mittelpunkt eines hybriden Workshops, den das Institut für Rechtsinformatik der Saar-Universität gemeinsam mit den österreichischen Partnern Research Meets Practice, ReMeP, und dem Internationalen Rechtsinformatik Symposion IRIS am 16. November von 13 bis 16 Uhr veranstaltet. An der Veranstaltung in Wien können Interessierte ab 14 Uhr virtuell teilnehmen.

blank

Strategische Forschungspartnerschaft zwischen Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik und Google startet in Saarbrücken

Gemeinsame Pressemitteilung des Max-Planck-Instituts für Informatik und Google Deutschland Im Juni haben das Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik in Saarbrücken und Google eine strategische Forschungspartnerschaft zur Eröffnung des „Saarbrücken Research Center for Visual Computing, Interaction and Artificial Intelligence (VIA)” am Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik bekannt gegeben. Bei der Auftaktveranstaltung am heutigen 9. November kommen Vertreterinnen und Vertreter aus Politik, Wissenschaft [...]

blank

Anomalien und Fehler im Produktionsprozess frühzeitig erkennen - Forschungsprojekt AIQUAMA gestartet

Anomalien und Fehler im Produktionsprozess verursachen hohe Kosten und wirken sich negativ auf Nachhaltigkeit und Produktivität aus. Gelingt es, solche Fehler unmittelbar bei ihrem Auftreten zu erkennen, dann können kostenintensive Nacharbeiten, aufwendige Endprüfungen und Lieferverzögerungen vermieden werden. Das deutsch-tschechische Forschungsprojekt AIQUAMA (AI-based Quality Management for Smart Factories) untersucht den Einsatz von Künstlicher Intelligenz im Qualitätsmanagement von Produktionsprozessen. [...]

IT-Themenabend – UnternehmerInnen, BürgerInnen und ForscherInnen tauschen sich aus

Mit der Veranstaltungsreihe „IT-Themenabend“ fördert das Kompetenzzentrum Informatik in Zusammenarbeit mit der Kontaktstelle für Wissens- und Technologietransfer der Universität des Saarlandes, dem Deutschen Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI), dem saarland.innovation&standort e.V. (saaris) sowie dem Institut für Technologietransfer an der Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft  des Saarlandes gGmbH den Austausch zwischen WissenschaftlerInnen, BürgerInnen und AnwenderInnen in kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen aus der Region. Die Veranstaltungsreihe verknüpft die aktuellsten Ergebnisse aus der Informatik-Forschung mit Bedürfnissen professioneller AnwenderInnen.

Termine, Vorträge und Veranstaltungen

November 2022

Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So
1
2
  • Talk on "Why not use a hammer when a problem looks almost like a nail?" by Martin Bromberger (Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik - RG 1)
3
  • Talk on "Becoming selfish: The rise of reflexivity and self compounds in Middle English under the contact hypothesis" by Carola Trips (University of Mannheim)
4
  • Informatik-AG Gymnasium am Schloss
5
6
7
  • Seminar "Informatische Bildung"
  • Talk on "AI-assisted Programming: Applications, User experiences, and Neuro-symbolic techniques" by Sumit Gulwani, Microsoft Research
  • Ringvorlesung „Going digital!“: „Digital Humanities: einige Überlegungen zu Methoden und Anwendung“ Prof. Dr. Elton Prifti
8
9
10
  • Talk on "Fair Allocation of Indivisible Goods, A Survey" by Kurt Mehlhorn (Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik - D1)
11
  • Informatik-AG Gymnasium am Schloss
12
13
14
  • Ringvorlesung „Going digital!“: „Literaturkritik in den neuen Medien“ Dr. Caroline Frank (Tübingen)
15
16
  • Talk on "Designing AI Systems with Steerable Long-Term Dynamics" by Thorsten Joachims (Cornell University)
  • Workshop: Haftung für Schäden durch KI
17
  • Talk on "Quantum Error Correction Beyond Qubits" by Barbara Terhal (TU Delft)
  • Talk on "Detecting Intellectual Influence from Dynamic Word Embeddings: Applications to Historical Newspapers and Contemporary Research Articles" by Jacob Eisenstein (Google AI)
18
  • Informatik-AG Gymnasium am Schloss
19
  • CoderGirls
20
21
  • Ringvorlesung „Going digital!“: „Écrire en ligne(s). Literatur im digitalen Raum“ Dr. Hannah Steurer
22
23
  • Talk on "Robust Multi-view Depth Estimation" by Philipp Schröppel (Freiburg University)
24
  • Talk on "Enforcing Stack Safety on a Capability Machine" by Aïna Linn Georges (Aarhus University)
25
  • Talk on "Rethinking of Computing - Memory-Centric or In-Memory Computing" by Tei-Wei Kuo (National Taiwan University)
  • Informatik-AG Gymnasium am Schloss
26
27
28
  • Ringvorlesung „Going digital!“: „Going multi-modal in Border Studies“ Prof. Dr. Astrid Fellner, Eva Nossem, Tobias Schank
29
30